Institute for Entrepreneurship, Technology Management, and Innovation

Teaching at the Chair for Entrepreneurship and Technology Management

Lehre

On the basis of scientific knowledge, we enable people  to be responsible entrepreneurs in the context of new technologies and emerging needs.

    Basierend auf wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen befähigen wir Menschen als verantwortungsbewusste Unternehmer im Kontext neuer Technologien und Bedürfnisse zu agieren.

    Entrepreneurship Education am KIT

    The goal of academic entrepreneurship education at KIT is to familiarize students with the scientific findings of the entrepreneurship discipline and to enable them to successfully develop and realize their own business ideas.

    Within the framework of our courses, we impart technical, social and personal entrepreneurial skills. Our goal is to prepare students in the best possible way for an entrepreneurial activity within or outside an established organization. Our teaching is research-based and practice-oriented.

    Lecture as theoretical basis

    As an integral part of the module Entrepreneurship (Master), the lecture provides the basis and gives an overview of important theoretical concepts and empirical evidence. Current case studies and practical experiences of successful founders underline the theoretical and empirical contents. In order to operate a company on a long-term basis, important specialist knowledge is also of decisive importance. The contents of the lecture therefore include the basics of Opportunity Recognition and Business Modeling as well as an introduction to Entrepreneurial Marketing and Leadership. Customer-centric development methods, the lean start-up approach and methods for technology-oriented innovation will be presented.

    Future founders must be able to develop and manage resources such as financial and human capital, infrastructure and intellectual property. Further aspects relate to the establishment of an organisation and the financing of one's own project.

    From theory to practice

    The knowledge imparted in the lecture Entrepreneurship is applied in our practice-oriented seminars. We use an action learning approach to complement knowledge with skills and reflective attitudes. In five-member teams, students experience their path from idea generation to the final investor pitch. On the basis of the latest research results, we develop innovative methods and workshop formats to structure entrepreneurial action and thus increase effectiveness and efficiency. Our educational approach also includes in-depth psychological approaches and methods for analysing the core values of founders. On this basis, we want to encourage students to act responsibly and reflectively.

    Our seminars are aimed at Master (MA) and Bachelor (BA) students and include:

    • Design Thinking: User-centric approach to developing business ideas and services (MA)
    • Business Planning for Founders: Business model generation and evaluation using structured approaches and methods such as technology characterization, application ideation, selection (TAS) to generate and validate business models and prototypes (MA).
    • Entrepreneurship Research: Scientific examination of various current research questions in the field of Entrepreneurship (MA)
    • Entrepreneurial Leadership and Innovation Management: Research into entrepreneurial action, especially in innovation projects in the corporate context (MA)
    • Entrepreneurship BasicsBusiness model generation and evaluation with structured tools and methods for generating and validating business models and prototypes (BA)

    As a lecture with practice:

    • Management of new technologies: Overview of the international development of key technologies such as biotechnology, nanotechnology, neurotechnologies, converging technologies (MA)

    learning objectives

    In our training program, we address and develop three components of entrepreneurial competence: knowledge, skills and attitudes - integrated into three competence pillars: Professional competence, social and personal competence. After completing the Entrepreneurship Module at KIT, the students:

    Module requirements

    The Entrepreneurship module at KIT is designed as a 9 ECTS Master module program, which includes one compulsory lecture (3 ECTS) and two seminars (3 ECTS each). The seminars can be selected from our range, but we also accept a number of seminars from other chairs. For course accreditation and module configuration in the Master, please read the module manual of your faculty or contact your programme coordinator.

Lehrstuhl für Entrepreneurship und Technologie-Management

Lehre am Lehrstuhl für Entrepreneurship und Technologiemanagement

Lehre

Basierend auf wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen befähigen wir Menschen als verantwortungsbewusste Unternehmer im Kontext neuer Technologien und Bedürfnisse zu agieren.

Entrepreneurship Education am KIT

Das Ziel der akademischen Entrepreneurship Ausbildung am KIT ist es, die Studierenden mit den wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen der Entrepreneurship Disziplin vertraut zu machen und sie zu befähigen, eigene Geschäftsideen erfolgreich zu entwickeln und zu verwirklichen. 

Im Rahmen unserer Lehrveranstaltungen vermitteln wir fachliche, soziale und personale unternehmerische Kompetenzen. Unser Ziel ist es hierbei, Studierende bestmöglich auf eine unternehmerische Tätigkeit innerhalb oder außerhalb einer etablierten Organisation vorzubereiten. Unsere Lehre ist dabei forschungsbasiert und praxisnah aufgebaut.

Vorlesung als theoretische Grundlage

Als integraler Bestandteil des Moduls Entrepreneurship (Master) bietet die Vorlesung die Basis und gibt einen Überblick über wichtige theoretische Konzepte und empirische Evidenz. Aktuelle Fallstudien und praktische Erfahrungen von erfolgreichen Gründerinnen und Gründern untermalen dabei die theoretischen und empirischen Inhalte. Um ein Unternehmen langfristig zu betreiben, sind zudem wichtige Fachkenntnisse von entscheidender Bedeutung. Die Inhalte der Vorlesung umfassen daher neben den Grundlagen zum Erkennen von Gelegenheiten (Opportunity Recognition) und der Geschäftsmodellierung auch eine Einführung in das Entrepreneurial Marketing und Leadership. Kundenzentrierte Entwicklungsmethoden, der Lean Startup Ansatz sowie Methoden zur technikorientierten Innovation werden vorgestellt. 

Künftige Gründerinnen und Gründer müssen Ressourcen wie Finanz- und Humankapital, Infrastruktur und geistiges Eigentum entwickeln und handhaben können. Weitere Aspekte beziehen sich auf den Aufbau einer Organisation und die Finanzierung des eigenen Vorhabens. 

Von der Theorie zur Praxis 

Das in der Vorlesung Entrepreneurship vermittelte Wissen wird in unseren praxisorientierten Seminaren angewendet. Wir nutzen einen Action Learning Ansatz, um das Wissen durch Fertigkeiten und reflektierte Einstellungen zu ergänzen. In fünfköpfigen Teams erleben die Studierenden ihren Weg von der Ideengenerierung bis zum finalen Investoren-Pitch. Auf der Grundlage neuester Forschungsergebnisse entwickeln wir innovative Methoden und Workshop Formate, um unternehmerisches Handeln zu strukturieren und so Wirksamkeit und Effizienz zu erhöhen. Unser Bildungsansatz umfasst zudem tief gehende psychologische Ansätze und Methoden zur Analyse der Kernwerte von Gründerinnen und Gründern. Auf dieser Grundlage wollen wir die Studierenden zu verantwortetem und reflektiertem Handeln ermutigen.

Unser Seminarangebot richtet sich an Master (MA)- und Bachelor (BA) Studierende und beinhaltet:

  • Design Thinking: Benutzerzentrierter Ansatz zur Entwicklung von Geschäftsideen und Dienstleistungen (MA)
  • Business Planning for Founders: Geschäftsmodellgenerierung und -evaluierung mit strukturierten Ansätzen und Methoden wie z.b. Technologiecharakterisierung, Application Ideation, Selection (TAS) zur Generierung und Validierung von Geschäftsmodellen und Prototypen (MA)
  • Entrepreneurship Research: Wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung mit verschiedenen aktuellen Forschungsfragen im Bereich Entrepreneurship (MA)
  • Entrepreneurial Leadership and Innovation Management: Erforschung unternehmerischen Handelns, insbesondere bei Innovationsprojekten im Unternehmenskontext (MA)
  • Entrepreneurship BasicsGeschäftsmodellgenerierung und -evaluierung mit strukturierten Werkzeugen und Methoden zur Generierung und Validierung von Geschäftsmodellen und Prototypen (BA)

Als Vorlesung mit Übung:

  • Management neuer Technologien: Überblick über die internationale Entwicklung von Schlüsseltechnologien wie Biotechnologie, Nanotechnologie, Neurotechnologien, konvergierende Technologien (MA)

Lernziele

In unserem Bildungsprogramm adressieren und entwickeln wir drei Komponenten unternehmerischer Kompetenz: Wissen, Fähigkeiten und Einstellungen - integriert in drei Kompetenzsäulen: Fachkompetenz, Sozial- und Selbstkompetenz. Nach Abschluss des Entrepreneurship-Moduls am KIT können die Studierenden:

Modulanforderungen

Das Modul Entrepreneurship am KIT ist als 9 ECTS Master Modul Programm konzipiert, das eine obligatorische Vorlesung (3 ECTS) und zwei Seminare (jeweils 3 ECTS) beinhaltet. Die Seminare können aus unseren Angeboten ausgewählt werden, wir erkennen aber auch eine Reihe Seminare anderer Lehrstühle an. Für die Kursakkreditierung und Modulkonfiguration im Master lesen Sie bitte das Modulhandbuch Ihrer Fakultät oder wenden Sie sich an Ihre Studienprogrammkoordinatoren.