Institute for Entrepreneurship, Technology Management, and Innovation

Joint Entrepreneurship School

Since 2017, an annual two-week exchange has been taking place within the framework of the Joint Entrepreneurship School (JES) between students of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU) in China.

During the Summer School in Shanghai and Karlsruhe, students develop a business model of technologies and patents developed at KIT in workshops in German-Chinese tandems over the period of two weeks.

During the first week, which takes place at KIT in Karlsruhe, Prof. Terzidis will conduct the workshops "Technology Application Selection (TAS)" and "Team Core Values" developed at the EnTechnon Institute. The week will be enriched in terms of content by lectures and workshops on the topic of company formation.

In addition to imparting specialist knowledge on the topic of company foundation and the corresponding skills, the focus is on breaking down cultural and language barriers between German and Chinese students and getting to know the start-up ecosystem of the other country. First contacts between young, prospective entrepreneurs from different countries make this event particularly valuable. In addition, the JES serves as an "action research" platform where the EnTechnon Institute conducts research on "International Entrepreneurship and Cooperation".

The second week of the JES will take place in Shanghai, China. There will be further lectures on topics such as "Business Start-Up", "Financial Planning", "Marketing", "Leadership" and "Intellectual Property". At the end of the course, the participants will have the task of presenting the developed business model in a five-minute short lecture ("pitch").

The curricular program of both weeks will be enriched by joint visits to the local start-up ecosystem, lectures by company founders followed by room for discussion, as well as cultural highlights such as the welcome dinner and visits to local sights.

As a study achievement to be evaluated, German-Chinese teams submit their business models in a final report based on an EXIST application and are rewarded with ECTS points in addition to their experiences and expertise.

 

 

 

Joint Entrepreneurship School 2021

The Joint Entrepreneurship School is scheduled to take place again in 2021.

Our current assessment (December 2020) is that a physical JES 2021 with a trip to China is not very likely. We are currently discussing the possibilities of another digital version with our partner university SJTU. As soon as there is news on this it will be posted here. The registration procedure and the registration period will be adjusted accordingly.


Joint Entrepreneurship School 2020

In 2020, due to the Corona situation, the JES was organized and conducted in a digital format by the EnTechnon Institute together with the Chinese partner, Shanghai Jiao-Tong University (SJTU).

The participants were six master students from KIT and six PhD or master students from SJTU. The event was reduced to one week and took place digitally via Zoom during the original first week of JES from July 06 to July 10, 2020.

The teaching sessions were held by Prof. Terzidis (workshop conception and leadership), while the organization and project coordination was the responsibility of Allen Mohammadi and Andreas Kleinn from EnTechnon.

During the workshop week, the participants worked in tandems (mixed KIT/SJTU) in action learning formats on their own projects. Based on KIT patents, the teams developed a business model and presented it to real investors from Shanghai on the last day of the program.

The following workshops developed at the EnTechnon Institute were conducted:

  • "Team Core Values" (how important it is to share the same values in a team).
  • "Technology Application Selection" (a framework developed by EnTechon Institute for technology push innovations).
  • "Business Modeling"
  • "Entrepreneurial Marketing" (how to segment markets for new ventures)
  • "Financial Planning" (how to make forecasts for the next years)
  • "Organization" (how to build a successful organization)
  • "Pitch"

Before the start of the JES, an intercultural coach was assigned to introduce the German and the Chinese students to each other's culture and to prepare them for teamwork. A joint session at the beginning of the JES also promoted the efficiency of the teamwork.

Since on-site visits were unfortunately not possible, the students had been given the task in advance of presenting themselves, the university, their hometown and parts of the start-up scene in Karlsruhe/Germany and Shanghai/China in videos they had created themselves. The videos were all very successful and entertaining and could thus "save" a small part of the intercultural experience.

Two guest lectures each from Chinese and German companies gave the participants a deeper insight into the dynamics of the innovation and entrepreneurship scene.

With the help of digital media, video conferencing programs, self-produced videos and guest lectures, the students were offered an instructive, academically relevant and, above all, safe event despite the adversities, which shows that international cooperation also works via digital media and offers great potential. Nevertheless, there is no substitute for the direct experience of travelling to a foreign country and being in direct contact with the culture.

Further information (call for proposals from December 2019)

Impressions

Lehrstuhl für Entrepreneurship und Technologie-Management

Joint Entrepreneurship School

Seit 2017 findet jährlich ein zweiwöchiger Austausch im Rahmen der Joint Entrepreneurship School (JES) zwischen Studierenden des Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und der Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU) in China statt. 

 

Während der Summer School in Shanghai und Karlsruhe entwickeln die Studierenden im Rahmen von Workshops in deutsch-chinesischen Tandems über den Zeitraum der zwei Wochen jeweils ein Geschäftsmodell von am KIT entwickelten Technologien und Patenten.

 

Während der ersten Woche, die in Karlsruhe am KIT stattfindet, führt Prof. Terzidis die am Institut EnTechnon entwickelten Workshops „Technology Application Selection (TAS)“ sowie „Team Core Values“ durch. Inhaltlich wird die Woche durch Vorlesungen und Workshops zum Thema Unternehmensgründung angereichert.

 

Neben der Vermittlung fachlichen Wissens zum Thema Unternehmensgründung und entsprechender Kompetenzen steht im Vordergrund, kulturelle und sprachliche Barrieren zwischen deutschen und chinesischen Studierenden abzubauen und das Start-Up Ökosystem des anderen Landes kennenzulernen. Erste Kontakte zwischen jungen, angehenden Unternehmern verschiedener Länder machen diese Veranstaltung besonders wertvoll. Außerdem dient die JES als „action research“-Plattform, auf der das Institut EnTechnon zum Thema "International Entrepreneurship and Cooperation" forscht.

 

Die zweite Woche der JES findet in Shanghai, China statt. Hier gibt es weitere Vorlesungen zu Themen wie „Unternehmensgründung“, „Finanzplanung“, „Marketing“, „Führung“ und „Geistiges Eigentum“. Am Ende besteht die Aufgabe für die Teilnehmer darin, das entwickelte Geschäftsmodell in einem fünfminütigen Kurzvortrag („pitch“) zu präsentieren. 

Das curriculare Programm beider Wochen wird angereichert durch gemeinsame Besichtigungen des lokalen Start-Up Ökosystems, Vorträge von Unternehmensgründern und –gründerinnen mit anschließendem Raum für Diskussionen, sowie kulturelle Highlights wie das Welcome Dinner und Besuche von Sehenswürdigkeiten im Umkreis.

 

Als zu bewertende Studienleistung reichen deutsch-chinesischen Teams ihre Geschäftsmodelle in einem an einen EXIST-Antrag angelehnten Abschlussbericht ein und werden zusätzlich zu ihren Erfahrungen und Erlebnissen auch mit ECTS Punkten belohnt.

 

 

 

Joint Entrepreneurship School 2021

Die Joint Entrepreneurship School soll auch 2021 wieder stattfinden.

Unsere aktuelle Einschätzung (Dezember 2020) befindet eine physische JES 2021 mit einer Reise nach China als nicht sehr wahrscheinlich. Wir sind aktuell dabei, die Möglichkeiten einer weiteren digitalen Variante mit der Partneruniversität SJTU zu besprechen. Sobald es Neuigkeiten dazu gibt werden diese hier veröffentlicht. Das Anmeldeverfahren und der Anmeldezeitraum werden entsprechend angepasst.

 

Joint Entrepreneurship School 2020

Die JES wurde in 2020 aufgrund der Corona-Situation in einem digitalen Format vom Institut EnTechnon gemeinsam mit dem chinesischen Partner, der Shanghai Jiao-Tong Universität (SJTU), organisiert und durchgeführt.

Die Teilnehmer waren sechs Masterstudierende des KIT und sechs Doktoranden bzw. Masterstudierende der SJTU. Die Veranstaltung wurde auf eine Woche reduziert und fand in der ursprünglich ersten Woche der JES vom 06. Juli bis 10. Juli 2020 digital per Zoom statt.

Die Lehreinheiten wurden von Prof. Terzidis (Workshop-Konzeption und -Leitung) gehalten, die Organisation und Projektkoordination oblag Allen Mohammadi und Andreas Kleinn vom EnTechnon.

Während der Workshop-Woche arbeiteten die Teilnehmer in Tandems (gemischt KIT/SJTU) in Action-Learning-Formaten an eigenen Projekten. Auf Grundlagen von KIT Patenten entwickelten die Teams ein darauf aufbauendes Geschäftsmodell und präsentierten dies am letzten Tag des Programms vor echten Investoren aus Shanghai.

Folgende am Institut EnTechnon entwickelten Workshops wurden durchgeführt:

  • „Team Core Values“ (wie wichtig es ist, in einem Team die gleichen Werte zu teilen)
  • „Technology Application Selection“ (ein vom EnTechon Institut entwickeltes Framework für den Technologiepush Innovationen)
  • „Business Modeling“
  • „Entrepreneurial Marketing“ (Segmentierung der Märkte für neue Unternehmungen)
  • „Financial Planning“ (wie man Prognosen für die nächsten Jahre erstellen kann)
  • „Organization“ (wie man eine erfolgreiche Organisation aufbaut)
  • „Pitch“

Vor Beginn der JES wurde ein interkultureller Coach beauftragt, den deutschen und den chinesischen Studierenden die jeweils andere Kultur näher zu bringen und sie auf die Teamarbeit vorzubereiten. Eine gemeinsame Einheit zu Beginn der JES beförderte darüber hinaus die Effizienz der Teamarbeit.

Da vor Ort Besichtigungen leider nicht möglich waren, hatten die Studierenden im Vorfeld die Aufgabe bekommen, sich selbst, die Universität, ihre Heimatstadt und Teile der Start-up-Szene in Karlsruhe/Deutschland bzw. Shanghai/China in selbst erstellen Videos vorzustellen. Die Videos waren alle sehr gelungen und unterhaltsam und konnten so einen kleinen Teil der interkulturellen Erfahrungen „retten“.

Je zwei Gastvorträge von chinesischen und deutschen Firmen haben den Teilnehmern einen tieferen Einblick in die Dynamiken der Innovations- und Entrepreneurship-Szene ermöglicht.

Mit Hilfe der digitalen Medien, Videokonferenzprogramme, selbst erstellten Videos und Gastvorträge konnte den Studierenden trotz der Widrigkeiten eine lehrreiche, wissenschaftlich relevante und vor allem sichere Veranstaltung geboten werden, die zeigt, dass internationale Kooperation auch über digitale Medien funktioniert und ein großes Potential bietet. Dennoch können die direkten Erfahrungen nicht ersetzt werden, die das Bereisen eines fremden Landes und die unmittelbare Berührung mit der Kultur mit sich bringen.

Weitere Informationen (Ausschreibung aus Dezember 2019)

Impressionen