Institute for Entrepreneurship, Technology Management, and Innovation

Basic information

Team Project Economy and Technology

The "Team Project Business and Technology" is offered as a new element of the B.Sc. Industrial Engineering since WS20/21. The focus of the module is on the application of theoretical contents of the course to practice-relevant projects at the interface of business and technology and the preparation of students for working in interdisciplinary teams.

Core elements of the concept:

Working on projects in interdisciplinary teamsStudents are divided into teams of 4-5 members with heterogeneous majors or subject selections. This is to better prepare students for the challenges in the professional life of an industrial engineer.

-Interdisciplinary taskAt the beginning of the course, students have the opportunity to choose from a good dozen projects. The tasks are oriented towards the interface between business and technology. In doing so, the focus of the regular course is expanded from "understand" to "design."

-Artefact as a resultIn addition to a presentation or a report, an artefact is also required as project output to monitor success. This could be a prototype and business plan, a component, an algorithm, a model or similar. These artefacts should be provided centrally in a short video (max. 3 minutes).

Further procedure:

  1. Central coordination/registration: choice of module in the free elective area or in the BWL/ING module is followed by registration and acceptance for the respective team project
  2. Decentralized execution of the team project: Continuous processing of the problem in the team in close coordination with the respective supervising institute.
  3. Central deliverables: submission of the video on the problem and results/artifacts for central provision on the YouTube channel of the faculty and participation in the public pitch presentation with 5 minutes presentation per team project and presence of representatives* of the partner companies of the KIT Faculty of Industrial Engineering and Management.

More information:https://portal.wiwi.kit.edu/ys/4375


Team Projects 20/21

In the following, two team projects from the past winter semester 2020/21 are presented to give an insight into the projects.

Project Fish'N'Bricks

The team project Fish'N'Bricks deals with an analysis and further development of an already existing business model of the university group Enactus e.V. The basic idea of the project is to remove plastic waste from the oceans and from the beaches, to press the plastic into the shape of a brick and then to use the bricks for example for building houses.


Supervisors: Sarah Manthey, Alexander Tittel (EnTechnon)

Project Opportunity Recognition (Homi Systems)

The team project Opportunity Recognition initially presented the students with the task of analyzing the UN SDG's (Sustainable Development Goals) in the context of a trend book. This was complemented by an input workshop in which students became aware(er) of their values, competencies and preferences in order to narrow down an area from which to build a solid foundation for an ideation process for a potential business idea. This and other elements eventually led to the Homi Systems project! Homi Systems is an intuitive, connected, and cross-device everyday assistant for seniors and their loved ones with a focus on health, safety, and social interaction.


Supervisors: Sarah Manthey, Alexander Tittel (EnTechnon)

Lehrstuhl für Entrepreneurship und Technologie-Management

Grundlegende Informationen

Das "Teamprojekt Wirtschaft und Technologie" wird seit dem WS20/21 als neues Element des B.Sc. Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen angeboten. Der Fokus des Moduls liegt auf der Anwendung von theoretischen Inhalten des Studiums auf praxisrelevante Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wirtschaft und Technologie und der Vorbereitung der Studierenden auf die Arbeit in interdisziplinären Teams.

Kernelemente des Konzepts:

Bearbeitung der Projekte in interdisziplinären Teams: Studierende werden in Teams von 4-5 Mitgliedern mit heterogenen Studienschwerpunkten bzw. Fächerauswahlen eingeteilt. So sollen die Studierenden besser auf die Herausforderungen im Berufsleben eines Wirtschaftsingenieurs vorbereitet werden.

Interdisziplinäre Aufgabenstellung: Zu Beginn des Kurses besteht die Möglichkeit für die Studierenden aus einem guten Dutzend Projekte auszuwählen. Die Aufgabenstellungen orientieren sich an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wirtschaft und Technologie. Dabei wird der Fokus des regulären Studiums von "verstehen" zu "gestalten" erweitert.

Artefakt als Ergebnis: Zur Erfolgskontrolle wird zusätzlich zu einer Präsentation bzw. einem Bericht ebenfalls ein Artefakt als Projektoutput erwünscht. Darunter ist beispielsweise ein Prototyp und Businessplan, ein Bauteil, ein Algorithmus, ein Modell oder vergleichbares zu verstehen. Diese Artefakte sollen in einem kurzen Video (max. 3 Minuten) zentral bereitgestellt werden.

Weitere Vorgehensweise:

  1. Zentrale Koordination/ Registrierung: Wahl des Moduls im freien Wahlbereich oder im BWL/ING-Modul wird gefolgt von der Anmeldung und der Zusage zum jeweiligen Teamprojekt
  2. Dezentrale Durchführung des Teamprojektes: Kontinuierliche Bearbeitung der Problemstellung im Team in enger Abstimmung mit dem jeweiligen betreuenden Institut
  3. Zentrale Deliverables: Abgabe des Videos zu Problemstellung und Ergebnissen/ Artefakten zur zentralen Bereitstellung auf dem YouTube Kanal der Fakultät und Teilnahme an der öffentlichen Pitch-Präsentation mit 5 Minuten Präsentation pro Teamprojekt und Anwesenheit von Vertreter*innen der Partnerunternehmen der KIT-Fakultät für Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen

Mehr Informationen: https://portal.wiwi.kit.edu/ys/4375

 

Teamprojekte 20/21

Im Folgenden werden zwei Teamprojekte aus dem vergangenen Wintersemester 2020/21 dargestellt, um einen Einblick in die Projekte zu erhalten.

Projekt Fish´N´Bricks

Das Teamprojekt Fish´N´Bricks beschäftigt sich mit einer Analyse und Weiterentwicklung eines bereits existierenden Geschäftsmodells der Hochschulgruppe Enactus e.V. Die grundlegende Idee des Projektes ist, Plastikmüll aus den Meeren  und von den Stränden zu beseitigen, das Plastik in die Form eines Ziegels zu pressen und die Ziegel dann zum Beispiel zum Hausbau zu verwenden.

Betreuer: Sarah Manthey, Alexander Tittel (EnTechnon)

Projekt Opportunity Recognition (Homi Systems)

Das Teamprojekt Opportunity Recognition stellte die Studierenden zunächst vor die Aufgabe, die UN SDG's (Sustainable Development Goals) im Rahmen eines Trendbooks zu analysieren. Dies wurde ergänzt durch einen Input-Workshop, in dem die Studierenden sich ihrer Werte, Kompetenzen und Präferenzen bewusst(er) wurden, um daraus einen Bereich einzugrenzen, der ein solides Fundament für einen Ideation-Prozess für eine mögliche Geschäftsidee darstellen sollte. Dies und weitere Elemente führte schließlich zu dem Projekt Homi Systems! Homi Systems ist ein intuitiv-bedienbarer, vernetzter und geräteübergreifender Alltagshelfer für Senioren und deren Angehörigen mit dem Fokus auf Gesundheit, Sicherheit und soziale Interaktion.

Betreuer: Sarah Manthey, Alexander Tittel (EnTechnon)